Day Programs & Events

Explore and learn about our public lands.

Around the state, Alaska Geographic coordinates many day programs and events that celebrate our public lands. Whether it’s a presentation, a film screening or a hands-on experience, the more you are exposed to the Alaska’s amazing public lands, the more you will care about these special places.

 

In Denali at the Murie Science and Learning Center

Evening Speaker Series
These events host visiting scientists and resources specialists for in depth explorations of Alaska science and history. Presentations are offered in June, July, and August, typically on  Friday evenings, at 7pm in the Murie Science and Learning Center classroom.

Friday, June 7 Monitoring Juncos and Robins in Denali

Friday, June 14 Ecological Monitoring in Alaska – The NEON Project

Friday, June 21 Carnivore Ecology in Denali

Friday, June 28 Fire Ecology in Denali

Friday, July 5 Effects of Recreation on Breeding Birds in Denali

Wed., July 10 Denali’s World Class Fossils: A Paleontology Update

Friday, July 12 Spruce Bark Beetles

Friday, July 19 Movi: An Emerging Threat to Alaska Ungulates?

Friday, July 26 Mushrooms of Alaska

Friday, August 2 Eye of the Lynx: Lynx Radio Collaring in Alaska

Friday, August 9 Glaciology in the Alaska Range

Friday, August 16 Canada (Gray) Jays in Denali

Friday, August 23 Climate Change Affects on Insects of Northern Latitudes

Friday, August 30 Treeline Shift & Genetic Adaptation in Spruce Trees

K-12 Education with Denali National Park & Preserve
The National Park Service offers a number of educational programs for visitors to Denali. Please visit their Plan Your Visit page to see the opportunities.  Some specific programs include: Classroom Visits by Rangers, Distance Education Visits with Rangers, Denali Science School, and Educational Curriculum.